All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Projection
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:18 am 
Offline
Needs to post more

Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:41 am
Posts: 1
We do not use GIS but our customers do. We convert their files to our format (Tenet). One of our customers shapefiles does not 'pin' itself to the map and I am sure this is something to do with the projection. Our import screenprint shows it off the Scilly Isles! We have asked them to send in a .prj file but this does not help. Please can anyone advise?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Projection
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:21 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 7:37 pm
Posts: 113
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
If you know the original coordinates system you might be able to re-project it. I'm guess it's going from from a global to state plane?

I would just remind them and have them send you the files again to save yourself the headache.

Good luck.

_________________
GIS Manager


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | Original design by DVGFX - GIS Corner 2012
Follow GIS Corner on Twitter View GIS Corner's group on LinkedIn